The Adventures of the Sleepy Feet: Mt. Maculot – the second time around!

Mt. Maculot @ Cuenca, Batangas, Philippines

(Rockies – Summit – Grotto Traverse, 930+ MASL)

November 18, 2012

 TRIVIA: Mt. Maculot is the second highest peak in Batangas.

Love is sweeter the second time around. And so they say.

P1110937

That rocky road again 🙂

The last time we climb Mt. Maculot we only got to the Rockies because we weren’t gifted with a fine weather. Bundle it up with some mishaps we had and I can say it was really a hike to remember. In spite of all those, yes, I was in love. Girls oftentimes fall in love with bad boys, eh? Our second time, however, was a fine Sunday with the sun so scorching that I had even wished for it to rain (just a little bit). A very lengthy day hike,  my second trip to Mt. Maculot was a very remarkable one, and I fell in love even more.

P1110971

My pretty Ninang Tetay

We started our trek later than what we originally planned. The weather let us see the scenery that was concealed to us the last time but at the same time the heat was so intense (especially near peak because there’s not much vegetation) that I have to stop a lot of times, like one in every 50 steps. Also, we got a new hiking buddy!!!  Tope wasn’t around, so it was just me, Turtley and Tetay (but I call her Ninang Tetay). Ninang Tetay is a schoolmate and orgmate in college. She was really excited about this trip. And I was glad she was with us because I had missed her so much. We had so much fun back in college.

P1110951

Why is it that she’s still fresh and I’m soaked? ❤

The trail was such an assault for Ninang because it was a direct ascent to the peak – not long walks but long strides, which she less preferred. Before we got to Rockies, we had our lunch and after a while we proceeded right away because we were on a tight schedule. At the Rockies, we went further than where we visited the last time. This time, the view was even more breath-taking. Blue and clear skies welcome us, one of the bluest I’ve seen. The clouds were so full and white that it looked like snow mountains. After some picture-takings, we hurried back and went straight to the summit. No time to waste or else darkness will fall. (Wooooh!)

Three of us :))

Three of us :))

I'm so scared while taking this shot!

I’m so scared while taking this shot!

The death-defying jump by Turtley

The death-defying jump by Turtley

P1120006

The wacky shot at the summit

The trail towards summit is covered with thick vegetation, an indication that it is not usually covered by hikers. There is really not much to be seen at the summit. But you have to pass the summit to get to the grotto. Actually, it’s the part that I enjoyed a lot. The cool feeling of the shade, the moist air brought about by the plants and the hush and the whispers of different insects, you’ll know you’re in a different place, a better place; some place that you haven’t dreamed of but you will instantly love once you get to see and experience.

The Instagram upload at the summit :)

The Instagram upload at the summit 🙂

We didn’t stay long at the summit. After some rest and uploading our pictures via Instagram (there’s network coverage yay!), we moved on. This is the part that Ninang Tetay despised most :). Since it is her first hike, she really found it difficult to descend. That, too, was my problem when I started.

Ninang Tetay at her bravest

Ninang Tetay at her bravest

Then there was a part that you have to use a rope and rappel down. She was really scared. It was such a struggle for her. And it was our fault to have pushed her that far even though we know it was just her first time. I am truly sorry Ninang! Nonetheless, the experience was packed with adventure. I can now say that I am now better in rappelling *wink*. I enjoyed it a lot.

It was near sunset when we reached the grotto. It was such a dramatic scene – the afternoon sun shining down on the cross at the grotto while we’re walking towards it. The Grotto, with the trail of the Way of the Cross is one of the landmarks of Mt. Maculot and I’m very glad to have visited it for the first time. Behind it you will see the side of the mountain where we struggled earlier. In front you will see the community at the foot of the mountain. Now I know the feeling of being Google Maps :).

To the Grotto

To the Grotto

Ninang and I at the Grotto

Ninang and I at the Grotto

Slowly, the sun begins to rest. That feeling when the warmth of the sun touches your face and the breeze brushes your cheek, it is amazing. I would trade for it in exchange of a week in the city or a week’s salary (wow). After enjoying the scene and lingering for a while, we were almost near to the conclusion of our trip. Before 6pm, we were back on the cemented roads, tired but full of new experience. Checking back on Ninang, she really did well; very brave and strong to have withstand the nerve-wracking experience. I am very proud of my friend. After getting dressed, we ended our adventure by treating ourselves with some Big N’ Tasty at McDonald’s. I never knew fast food could be that great.

Leave a comment